Custom Made Slip Cover revealing Wood Trim

31 Oct
The Final Result

The Final Result

Before the new slip cover

Before the new slip cover

What a drastic difference between the old and new!

About a month ago my client asked if I could make a slip cover for the love seat featured here. Her only request was that the beautiful wood trim still show through. And her question, “Is it possible?”As my husband would say, I love a good challenge. If I can think outside the box to make something unique I will. When I saw the love seat in its original form I immediately thought of some kind of lattice criss-cross over the wood work connecting the front and back pieces.

image

The Arms a work in progress

Once I had the front and back of the love seat complete I pinned the pieces to the original love seat. Then I cut long 1 1/2 inch strips of bias fabric.

Basting on the bias strips

Basting on the bias strips

These strips I folded and sewed as bias tape for the lattice-work.Around the top of the seat I spaced each cross approximately 3″ apart but when around the curves this had to be adjusted a little to compensate for the inside versus outside curvature.Talk about time consumming! I did not exactly comprehend how much time the hand basting around the entire outline cover would take. My guess it that the lattice-work alone took at least 9 hours.After hand basting it had to be machine sewn from the inside and then top stitched down on the outside.

A look at the finished arm

A look at the finished arm

It was well worth the effort! The finished result is stunning. Here are a couple more pictures of the finished view.

Great view of the top lattice

Great view of the top lattice

The Final Result

The Final Result

As always with my custom slip covers a zipper is sewn almost invisibly on the back side of the piece for easy removal. Another customization on this cover is the elastics that go around each leg to prevent the cover from rising up.

If you have any pieces of furniture you might like to get covered give me a call. We pick up and deliver within a 20 mile radius of Red Hook, NY. But I have many clients coming from Ulster, Columbia, Greene and Dutches Counties.

Leave a Reply

