Make a Stuffed Goblin Shark

14 Dec

When I received a phone call asking if I could make a stuffed goblin shark I didn’t even know such a creature existed. What an unusual request! It turns out all one little boy wanted for Christmas was this particular species of shark, but much to his mother’s chagrin she could not find any company that made them so she was referred to me.

I looked around online for a picture that I thought would be easiest to replicate and found this one.

image

Then I enlarged it and printed it the size I wanted. At first I tried a 16″ body length and it just looked too small, so I enlarged it to about a 26″ body length plus fins and front dagger snout which brought it to about 40″ long. I printed this and used it as a template.

My paper template.

My paper template.

Then the work began on the body, fins, and teeth.

A close up of the teeth already sewn in

A close up of the teeth already sewn in

 

The body of the shark before the bottom fins were added

The body of the shark before the bottom fins were added

In the process of stuffing

In the process of stuffing

 

Finished stuffed goblin shark

Finished stuffed goblin shark

Love Stitches serves the Hudson Valley area, offering custom sewing services, alterations, tailoring, and fitted slipcovers. Conveniently located in Red Hook village (12571)

Leave a Reply

